beetiful.

beetiful

I love pretty food. There’s something so lovely about sitting down to a meal that isn’t only delicious, but beautiful too. This prettiness doesn’t need to be limited to sweets. Today I’m sharing a meal/snack suggestion that’s great darn cute (maybe even cuter than some cupcakes). After mentioning it in my post about my UK trip, this recipe has been buzzing in my head, so I decided to see if I could recreate it at home. Credits of course go to Le Pain Quotidien.

You’ll need:
-a bread base: I love to use little mini naan when I’m making lunch or dinner for myself, but a slice of crusty french bread or a yummy bagel would also work brilliantly. These guys would also be ideal on crostini as hors d’oeuvres.
-beet hummus: you can make your own, or pick some up at your local fine grocer (or grocery store, if your local grocery store is fancier than mine). For Halifax folks: they have tubs at Peet’s for less than $5.
-roasted veggies of your choice: I went with purple cauliflower from the farmer’s market, onions, and a purple bell pepper. Zucchini, tomato, sweet potato or broccoli would also be yummy!
-herbed goat cheese
-optional: basil olive oil

As the above gif. demonstrates, these are super simple. Here are the steps.

1. Toast your bread.
2. Spread on a nice, thick layer of beet hummus.
3. Top with roasted veggies.
4. Sprinkle with 1/4 inch cubes of goat cheese
5. Pop it in the toaster oven for 1 minute to let the cheese get a little melty. If you don’t have the toaster oven you can pop ‘em in the oven, or just skip this step.

Enjoy!

xx

Clare

P.S. Excuse the bad pun in the title. My roommates are a bad influence.

One thought on “beetiful.

  1. Pingback: pump(kin) up your hummus. | thecherriesontop

Leave a Reply

