cookie correspondence: update.

DSCN0967

Here are a few of the recipes I tried, and some quick notes. I would also recommend these tips, because the perfect cookie doesn’t simply depend on the ingredients.

My personal top tips:
-a slightly underbaked cookie is always best. Take them out a few minutes before they’re fully cooked. They cook a little bit on the pan anyways, and this way you get that delicious gooey center which I go on to obsess out in this blog post.
-chlll your dough before baking for at least half an hour, the cookies bake more slowly which helps you get that perfect texture.
-Upgrade your vanilla, you don’t have to go to an aristanal market, although that is always a fun adventure in my books. This is my current favourite, and it’s from the supermarket.
-use salt: salted butter helps achieve that salty-sweet taste that makes cookies so addictive. If you want more control over the amount of salt, you can stick with unsalted butter and sprinkle sea salt on top of each ball of dough.

Versatile Cookie Dough I love the idea of a single dough that can tackle all kinds of jobs. That said, when stacked against other chocolate chip cookie recipes, I found the dough a bit dry and tricky to manage. The cookies turned out nice and soft, but not nearly as ooey-gooey-chewy as I would like. That said, a versatile dough is a great emergency hosting supply. I’d recommend baking a big batch, dividing it into a few freezer bags and defrosting and differentiating each pack as needed.

Brown Sugar Chocolate Chip Cookies These promised a smokey caramel flavour, which I didn’t quite pick up. That said, they were still quick, easy and chewy.

Flour Blend Chocolate Chip Cookies These were definitely my favourite. They have the sought-after ooey-gooey-chewy, rich buttery consistency I was craving. I can’t say enough good things. Cake may sound ridiculous, but it makes better scones, muffins and cakes, and guess what, two kinds of flour just means both bags last longer.

Joy of Cooking Chocolate Chip Cookies These were the cookies I grew up making. During the height of my high school stress I could whip up a batch in 15 minutes flat. Including baking time. I was a nut job. These are simple and dependable, and although I preferred the Flour Blend cookies, this is the recipe I would recommend to someone looking to whip up their own batch without feeling the need to go wild and buy two kinds of flour.

One thought on “cookie correspondence: update.

  1. Pingback: cherry + almond + white chocolate. | thecherriesontop

Leave a Reply

