raspberry muffins.

raspberry muffin

I’ve definitely been neglecting this blog. The only excuse I can offer is that I had a wonderful summer. For this neurotic over-achiever that means it was kind of jam-packed, but truly unforgettable.

Anyways, the new school year has begun, my dorm life is dead and buried and I’m making my new apartment my home. That means inaugural baking, and lots of it.

mixing raspberry muffins

Since I’m making 90% of my food I’m trying to be healthier. Reaching for bean sprout salad when I crave potato chips. Black beans over red meat. Quinoa-ing it up. Broccoli all the way. And you know what, it’s been awesome.

raspberry muffin closeupraspberry muffins prebaking

I’m not a huge breakfast fan, but I know, I know, it’s the most important meal of the day. I one thing I DO like is muffins. Muffins are not the healthiest option, but I’ve fortified these lovelies with almonds and bulgar (on top and in the “streusel-style” topping). They’re like halfway to being good for me.  Here’s a baking conversion site for the North-Americans. I’m kind of proud.

raspberry muffin for 1

Add to the mix:1/4 c. sliced almonds
1/4 c. bulgar

Streusel (to be popped on top of the batter before baking):2 tbsp. butter or margarine
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 tbsp. bulgar
2 tbsp. sliced almonds

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

