foodgawker easter.

Easter, like all other holidays with my family, doesn’t just mean one big meal, it means many big meals. With my little brother coming to town, I wanted to take full advantage of dorm-free time to make a big meal for him and my aunt. I of course turned to foodgawker, and found tons of fun recipes. None of them are very traditional, but all are mouthwatering. I present to you my quirky, a-little-bit-of-everything style Easter menu.

easter menu
This Easter was light, fresh, and actually fairly light (to compensate for the massive amounts of chocolate I scarfed down). Here are some pictures of the dishes I tried out. The Cajun Salmon Fishcakes were delicious, but fell completely apart – a learning experience for sure (I would maybe add a little egg, or a little more mayo). The Blood Orange Sangria was yummy and beautiful – a perfect party drink. I think the closest I got to a traditional Easter dish was the Lamb Kofta, which was my brother’s favourite. My favourite recipes were the Carrot Apple Ginger Soup and the Pomegranate Salsa; both were chock full of fresh fruit and veggies and super flavorful. Of course, I couldn’t leave it without a sweet. The Key Lime Cupcakes I tried were amazing. I added extra lime zest and juice, they were tart and just sweet enough. I’m pretty sure frosting Cupcakes is  good for the soul, and eating them most definitely is. Happy Easter!

Apple Carrot Ginger Soup - a new favourite

Apple Carrot Ginger Soup – a new favourite

IMG_1101

pomegranate salsa close

Mixing my Cajun salmon fishcakes.

Mixing my Cajun salmon fishcakes.

kofta prep

Lamb Kofta – ready for pan-frying.

Greek-style lamb kofta

Greek-style lamb kofta

I filled my sangria with loads of fresh fruit.

I filled my sangria with loads of fresh fruit.

key lime cupcakes

One thought on “foodgawker easter.

  1. Pingback: soup’s up. | thecherriesontop

Leave a Reply

